state-certified handgun licensing instructors teach both the
first-time and renewal classes for the Texas Concealed Handgun
License. The qualification requires classroom instruction
the SRT Training Academy or location of your choosing), a
written test, followed by 50 rounds of shooting proficiency demonstration at a state-approved
CHL REQUIREMENTS CHL Eligibility:
least 21 years of age, never convicted of a felony, no Class A or B misdemeanor
convictions in past 5 years, no current A or B charges pending, fully qualified
under state and federal laws to buy a handgun, not chemically dependent. Other
restrictions also apply.
Must be a legal
Texas resident with a Texas driver's license or state-issued ID card.
Reciprocity: Texas has two-way
agreements with the states bordering Texas. For a current list of all states
where the Texas Concealed Handgun License is valid, see the site of the Texas
Department of Public Safety OR:
Must be concealed at all times.
Any number of handguns may be carried.
A CHL allows immediate possession of handguns or long arms bought from licensed
dealers (no background check). Employers
& Businesses: May ban employees from having handguns at
work or customers from bringing handguns into the place of business.
Concealed Handguns Prohibited:
In schools, airports, courtrooms, polling places during elections or early
voting, correctional facilities, horse or dog pari-mutuel tracks, professional
or school sporting events, posted bars and any properly posted business.
may also apply. Parking lots, garages,
streets and sidewalks are not included at locations where guns are
banned unless access to the parking lot is restricted and the lots are properly
posted at the entrance.